There are scammers who are using a variety of names and seem to be targeting massage, acupuncture, yoga, practitioners and similar businesses in Europe. Although this might change.  They are claiming to be employees of Lewis Conquer Consultancy Services Ltd. This is completely untrue.

Unfortunately there is nothing that Lewis Conquer Consultancy Services Ltd can do to stop this other than advise anyone who enquires or who look on the website.

Typical first email.

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Datum: Fri, 14 May 2010 02:15:56 -0700 (PDT)
Von: Pete Owen <mark.00johnson@yahoo.com>
An:  Betreff: MASSAGE RESERVATION
 

Hello,
I am Mr.Pete Owen of Lewis Conquer Consultancy Services. We will be coming  for massage treatment and we are in number 8 adults, and we are to spend  7 day's. Please get back to me with the rate per person; please also get
back to me with 30 minutes daily session. Your professional advice  needed.
Arrival date: 20 July 2010. Departure date: 27 July 2010. Please check  the
availability and get back to me with the
Total cost. Mode of payment: credit card or cheque.
Regards,
Mr. Pete Owen
 


A variety of names are used: Pete Owen, Mark Owen, William Edward, Allan Bradock. None of whom are employees of Lewis Conquer Consultancy Services Ltd



Note the use of a yahoo email address that does not match the name. They are nearly always from a free account, like hotmail, gmail or yahoo. No legitimate business would use this type of account!    

If you receive an email like this ignore it

If you reply you will probably get something like

Hello,

Thanks for your reply and assistance so far.After our meeting in preparation for our coming, We concluded to use your spaces FOR MASSAGING TREATMENT and also we have concluded about the  payment.
However, a Certified Bank Check of 9,000 Euro has been issued to cover both our MASSAGE TREATMENT , car rental and other logistics that includes meals,camping etc.I am sure you do not provide such services in your MASSAGE CENTER so we engaged the services of a logistics agency.
I have now been instructed to send you the check, so that when you receive it you will cash it deduct the cost of your services 1,120 Euro and wait for instructions on how to use the refund of 7,880 Euro.
So,confirm this and provide me with the followings:
 
(1) YOUR FULL NAME (name on check)..............
(2)ADDRESS (for check delivery)................
(3) PHONE NUMBERS.............,
 
for payment to be delivered to you.
Please remember that the integrity of  our agency is involved, so this business requires prompt response.
I also hope that our stay will be made comfortable.
 
Best Regards,
Williams Edward
15 Groove Gardens Hendon
London NW4 SB4
Phone Number:+447011140476


The cheque (check) will be drawn against a non-European bank and will almost certainly be a forgery good enough to fool the average bank clerk. However due to the long delays in clearing international payments of this type it may be some time before this is found out.

You will then be asked to transfer some of the money to a third party or refund it. DO NOT DO THIS!!

Otherwise you will lose substantial amounts of money!!

I have been asked why I don't phone and try and stop them using my company name. The phone number given is a personal number that will divert to who knows where. Most of the other contact information is false. The email addresses could be anywhere I traced one to California. At least while they are using my company name, sensible people like you will check them out and not be taken in by them!

More information here